1. Health
Send to a Friend via Email

Axis I Disorders


Updated April 29, 2011

Written or reviewed by a board-certified physician. See About.com's Medical Review Board.


The 4th edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders(DSM-IV) organizes all psychiatric disorders and other problems into five different categoris (or axes).

For example, Axis I disorders include:

  • Anxiety Disorders(e.g.,panic disorder, social anxiety disorder,posttraumatic stress disorder)
  • Mood Disorders (e.g., major depression, bipolar disorder)
  • Eating Disorders (e.g., anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa)
  • Psychotic Disorders
  • Dissociative Disorders
  • Substance Use Disorders

Personality disorders (e.g., borderline personality disorder) are not included on Axis I. Instead, they are considered Axis II disorders.

  1. About.com
  2. Health
  3. Post Traumatic Stress (PTSD)
  4. Glossary
  5. Axis I Disorders - Definition of Axis I Disorders

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.